The positives of calorie counting…

Over the past couple of months, it has been difficult to control my diet due to the cold and, also the Christmas period. Last week I decided that I wanted to go on a 21-day challenge cutting out all fried and junk food. I managed it until the weekend came and it was difficult with family being over and all sorts of temptations.

 

I decided that instead of trying to cut it all out at once I was going to do it in moderation. My biggest weakness is Chocolate and I have managed to cut this out. Although it is hard I am determined to no longer let it control me.

 

Everyone thinks I’m crazy. All I hear is “eat what you want and enjoy life” or “you don’t need to lose any more weight”. However, for me it is more about becoming healthy and being able to put good things in my body. The food you eat directly affects how you feel and since I’ve started paying attention, I’ve noticed the difference in my energy levels.

 

As part of my challenge, I have been logging all the food I have been eating. Whilst consuming excess junk food, I very rarely went to the gym. Last week, I started again determined to restart my healthy lifestyle. I was struggling as I was achy and so tired. However, I realised that my Fitbit calculated me losing over 2000 calories in a day but I was only consuming a little over 1000.

 

Over the years, I thought calorie counting was pointless. But now I realise it is important especially if you’re in the position I am when you eat much less than your daily allowance. It is helping me eat correctly, giving me more energy but also helping my recovery.

 

Losing weight isn’t about eating less. It’s about eating the right food. Healthy body, healthy mind. If counting calories helps do it. Build a better lifestyle but do it at your own pace.

Leave a Reply

