If you believe you can, you will!

Like most people, it has taken me a while to discover my strengths and weaknesses. During my time in education, I only seemed to notice my weaknesses and it convinced me I wasn’t really good at anything so I went through life trying as hard as I could knowing I wouldn’t succeed because I knew there wasn’t one thing I was good at.

As usual social media plays a part in this, looking at other people being good at things made me feel worse thinking why is it some of us have no talent. Why am I that person with no talent? I After finally graduating, I took some time to discover who I was. I told myself if I wanted to do something I should and maybe I will be good. I started baking regularly and I could never get anything to look as it should, it tasted right but the more I practiced it finally got better and I even managed to make a birthday cake which I never thought possible but I knew baking was something I really wanted to do as a job, it was just a hobby. So, I began to write, and write, and write as much as I could and started to think maybe this is my calling. This could be the thing I am good at. My aim is to inspire at least one person and if I achieve this I will be happy.

Last week, I woke in the middle of the night and I had an epiphany. I don’t really like to use this word much because I feel the meaning of is strong but however moving on I had this great realisation. You see, I always loved art but I was never good at it so I never tried but then I thought, painting is also a part of art and if I have never attempted it, how can I know if I am good or not. In the morning, I decided I was going to try and along with this realisation, I also thought to myself is writing not an art.

The reason I write this is because I realised that it doesn’t matter if you’re good at something or not, if you love to do it, then do it for yourself and enjoy it. No one is good at everything and sometimes it takes longer to find your thing. Have patience and believe in yourself.

Leave a Reply

