If I had a superpower…

I wish I could read minds. Not because I care about what other people think of me. When I was younger that was possibly the main reason. ‘Do they think I’m pretty?’ ‘Do they like what I am wearing?’ And the big question: ‘Do they like me?’ But who cares. What does it matter if someone likes you or not, I think I’ve realised that if a person who doesn’t know you, doesn’t like you it could be because you represent everything they wish they were, they’re threatened by you or they have just been naturally inclined to hate.

I wish I could read minds. I have this thing where I happen to see the good in people despite their bad qualities, I prefer to look at the good they’ve done it varies. I try not dislike anyone but if there is a person I dislike it would be because they have hurt or upset someone I love. I love complimenting random people, I think I just enjoy seeing their face light up with happiness. It’s like a domino. You cheer up one person and they cheer up another and it carries on. It can take something small to make a big change.

I wish I could read minds. Everyone wants to make it big in life and I am no different. I studied Journalism and English and I want to make it. But I told myself that if I managed to inspire and change the life of at least one person it would all be worth it. I can say I have made it. I wish I could read minds so I can help those who need it. I wish I could read minds so I can be there for the people who feel lonely or sad. I wish I could read minds so I can be reassured that there are others who are as crazy as I am. If I had a superpower I wish I could read minds.

Leave a comment